Skip Navigation LinksHome > About Us


Last updated: 19/10/2016 8:17 PM
email icon print icon

The Department of Local Government and Communities (DLGC) was established in 2013 under the Public Sector Management Act 1994. DLGC works in collaboration with Western Australia's local governments and community services sector to oversee the delivery of programs and services that support and strengthen the State's diverse communities. It is committed to achieving the best possible outcomes for seniors, young people, women, volunteers, children and families and multicultural communities. DLGC also provides regulation and support to local governments to ensure compliance with the Local Government Act 1995, and to early childhood education and care service providers through the Education and Care Regulatory Unit.

DLGC's Strategic Plan is focused on building closer collaboration and stronger partnerships between the State Government, local governments and community service organisations.

Administered legislation

DLGC administers 14 acts of parliament covering a wide range of issues, and develops and amends acts and regulations within its responsibility.

Organisational structure

DLGC is headed by a director general, with a corporate executive the decision-making body for the department.

The corporate executive comprises:

  • Director general
  • Executive director sector regulation and support
  • Executive director corporate services
  • Executive director community building and services


DLGC is responsible to the following Ministers:

Hon Paul Miles MLA

Minister for Local Government; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Youth

Hon Dr Mike Nahan MLA

Minister for Energy; Finance; Citizenship and Multicultural Interests

Hon Liza Harvey MLA

Deputy Premier; Minister for Police; Road Safety; Training and Workforce Development; Women's Interests

Hon Albert Jacob MLA

Minister for Environment; Heritage

Hon Joe Francis MLA

Minister for Emergency Services; Corrective Services; Small Business; Veterans